How to start using Python in your pet-projects

Vlad K.
2 min readFeb 9, 2021

In the beginning of my career’s path I was interested in coding in Python but I wasn’t able to find a proper source to get knowledge.

Frankly, I have fallen in love with the syntax of Python. I do think all developers who both saw and used Python have thoughts about it.

I didn’t find online and offline courses useful for me. So, I started to look through books. Finally, I found a perfect way to study it. I’m able to say that if you are an amateur of Python and don’t have experience in development at all you have to take a look at “Flask Web Development” by Miguel Grinber.

Don’t get confused by the title which has “Flask” in it. From the start of this book you find knowledge regarding such things as installing, debugging and deploying your own application on such services as Heroku. Having read the book you are ready to set up your own local server for developing applications.

I was impressed that this book covers such things as working with SQL/NoSql, WebDriver, Docker on high vision. You are able to skip those parts if you are not interested in them. So, you don’t need to be a guru. These are cookies.

Now, having got the knowledge of it in a month, I am able to make pet-projects using Python. It’s not only developing backend services which just obtain both “get” and “post” requests but also using it in automations, ML, screening web-sites. I have enough knowledge for integrating such services as, for instance, SMTP and Logging into my applications.

Personally I was happy to learn how multithreading works and at the moment I’m using it fully to improve application performance.

Basically, I use Python not only to make my routine work simple but also to code pet-projects and try new perspectives.

So, if you search beginner’s knowledge of Python without online courses which you don’t trust and you are able to learn via a book I recommend trying it. Have a happy path of learning such an awesome language of programming.

--

--